insomniac

November 17, 2007

i can see you, i don’t even know you
falling into the sheets at night.
i place my hands flat on my chest –
i feel my heart beat back the night.
i tried counting the sheep
and i talked to the shepherd and
i’ve played with  my pillow for ever and ever.
i sit alone and i watch the clock;
i breathe in on the tick, and out on the tock.

i can hear your bare feet on the kitchen floor,
and i don’t have to have these dreams no more
and i’ve found someone just to hold me tight –
hold the insomniac all night.

i dig my head down deep so i can’t hear the cars
outside on the street, and the stars are laughing.
they get a kick out of my misery.
i’ve tried everything short of Aristotle,
to Dramamine and the whiskey bottle.
pray for the day when my ship comes in –
i can sleep the sleep of the just again.

i can hear you bare feet on the kitchen floor,
and i don’t have to have these dreams no more
and i’ve found someone just to hold me tight –
hold the insomniac all night. 

i can hear your bare feet on the kitchen floor,
and i don’t have to have these dreams no more
and i’ve found someone just to hold me tight –
hold the insomniac all night.

keep on holding me.

(Billy Pilgrim)

Leave a Reply

