Samson

March 18, 2007

you are my sweetest downfall;
i loved you first.
beneath the sheets of paper lies my truth,
i have to go.
your hair was long when we first met.

Samson went back to bed –
not much hair left on his head.
ate a slice of wonder bread and
went right back to bed,
and the history books forgot about us
and the bible didn’t mention us –
not even once.

you are my sweetest downfall;
i loved you first.
beneath the stars came falling on our heads,
but they’re old light, they’re just old light.
your hair was long when we first met.

Samson came to my bed,
told me that my hair was red
told me I was beautiful and
came into my bed.
oh, i cut his hair myself one night,
a pair of dull scissors in the yellow light
and he told me that i’d done all right
and kissed me till the morning light.

Samson went back to bed –
not much hair left on his head.
ate a slice of wonder bread and
went right back to bed.
oh, we couldn’t bring the columns down –
yeah, we couldn’t destroy a single one
and the history books forgot about us
and the bible didn’t mention us –
not even once.

you are my sweetest downfall;
i loved you first.

(Regina Spektor)

Leave a Reply

