reflections on tonight and a sketchbook

December 16, 2006

i’m
not sure
if this is a good idea

my head still kind of hurts
and there is a woman
with her face turned away
and he
touches her hip like
it was a daffodil,
so soft and translucent
a dark line of skin
with
shadowy
hollows
penciled-in people

while the bird with the red head
watches
with dark eyes
and a tail like the nighttime
and two 
stars
dot his breast

i check my mailbox for the letter you promised
every day
but
i must have missed it somewhere,
or maybe you just never sent it
because
well, 
you know.

i want to cut up books
and glue the words
all over my walls
and my hands
and my teeth
letters
all over me and my things
i don’t know why
i just want it.

i want to draw a tree
and have it be real
and draw a couple beneath
who aren’t
afraid
of each other.

Leave a Reply

